Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Home network security issues

Ggogo2368
Aspirant

Home network security issues

Need help with a lot of issues on my home network. Using the Orbi RBR50 with one satellite and the Orbi outdoor extender. I have contacted Gearhead support numerous times without resolution (do not believe they understand what it is I’m trying to explain is happening - I’m not a techie person); however, I believe my home network is comprised or being controlled by someone inside my network through a computer on the network. Not sure of the correct terms so I apologize if this is worded incorrectly, but 4 other computers are unable to connect to any websites without getting certificate errors, unable to do any updates saying we do not permission or authorization, and based on the router logs, when any of these devices connect to the Wi-Fi; it immediately shows site allowed status.rapidssl.com followed by a bunch of ocsp.xxxx.com websites. I realize these are for certificates, but I have not purchased or authorized any wildcard subscription services. I was able to briefly access the suspected controller computer and run a shell command of Get-NetIPAddress and several ipv6 addresses appeared (which I have ipv6 off at the router) and a ::1 address showed, which I assume is a localhost. I did some digging and found that my iPhone is the ::1 localhost. How can this be shut down so I can reclaim control of my router, network, and the devices connected to it? Lastly, this address showed up today in the log as being accessed from that device. Does anyone know what it means? [site allowed: netgear-07a2d5b3-0d1e-49d4-9038-f3e9ce19f9ce.2d7d] from source 192.168.1.16,

Sorry for the lengthy message but this is very frustrating and I’m at my wits end here!
Model: RBR50|Orbi AC3000 Tri-band WiFi Router
Message 1 of 41
Jetdrive
Luminary