Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

How to optimize my Orbi Network/Am I getting the best performance?

RikParr73
Aspirant

How to optimize my Orbi Network/Am I getting the best performance?

Hi

My network is detailed in the attached diagram, hope it makes sense. I'm not convinced I am getting the full potential from my system, probably because of poor configuration (by me) on the Orbi kit and possibly the network switch, Modem etc. I have some network knowledge but limited.

My property is a UK standard 1970's brick build, and the floor plan is from my property, so measurements are exact. I have cat5 network points installed in limited locations. I have poor reception on the first floor and in the conservatory and some devices are not connecting to the nearest Sat, Access Point (RBR40) etc. The system does work, but it's not great at times.

Could someone kindly advise what I should be checking on the Orbi system and switch config etc to check it's optimized as much as possible. It's not a large property so can't understand the poor signal, especially when most of the kit is hard-wired to the Cisco switch.

Many thanks in advance.

Rik

Message 1 of 6
CrimpOn
Guru

Re: How to optimize my Orbi Network/Am I getting the best performance?

This seems like a LOT of WiFi radios in a small space. The general practice is to space Orbi units "about 30 ft." apart, depending on building materials.  It appears that several of these are not much over 10' apart.

The house has brick exterior walls. What is the interior construction? (walls, floor)

It is unusual to connect another Orbi router "behind" an Orbi router, as this creates two separate WiFi networks. Even if they have identical SSID/password, devices will not "roam" between the two.