Highlighted
Star

Re: How to set a separate SSID for the 5 GHz network on your Orbi

@resqui wrote:

Thanks @dwood !   Your input has been extremely helpful.  As a tech novice, I've struggled to get my RBR50 to stop dropping my wifi connections during work hours.  I hear these terms being thrown out like mesh and dynamic that apparently are meant to describe how the router and satelite do some type of workload balance of the devices using the wifi.  Unfortunately for me, nobody cares (but they do complain) when my work softphone and work Skype sessisions temporarely drop while the router/satelite rebalance or reset unexpectedly.  Whatever its called it creates a disruption for my work.   I've applied the steps that you reshared; and currently crossing my fingures that they stick/work.  Unfortunately the supplier I purchased the RBR50 from had a 15 day return policy and I'm about a 1.5 months into this ~$400 purchase.   

Lastly, after applying the instructions you provided, once completed, should I disable the Telnet which was required during the initial debug step? 

Thanks again and keep posting, everyones ideas are invaluable.      

If i recall correctly telnet defaults to disabled after reboot.

Forgive me for not testing as it will take down my own mesh network! Very pleased I could be of help!

Theres quite a bit of misinformation on here, along with some really unhelpful people who do nothing but question why you need to change or modify the settings!

Hope its now all working and you are now enjoying the separate SSID's.

Message 551 of 685
Highlighted
Tutor

Updated latest firmware to  2.5.1.8

and now this trick to separate out 2.4 and 5 GHz SSID doesn't work anymore.  Somehow  it reverted to only 1 SSID by itself after   half hour or so...

Anyone else having the same problem?

I had this separate SSID perviously for more than a year.

Netgear, if anyone is ready, please add feature request to  let users have seprate SSIDs

Message 552 of 685
Highlighted