Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Lots of Promise. But no joy

macrhino
Aspirant

Lots of Promise. But no joy

I am a network engineer and the CEO of a company that makes High speed wireless internet access equipment. We have a patent on high speed distribution technology in the 12 GHz range for last mile connectivity. 

I have a hobby of home automation. Because of this I have 16 Wifi based cameras and a trove of home automation devices that live on the network. Due to the traffic that invoves, I have two wifi nets, connected into differnet intenret acess points to serve my home. Both are 126 Mbps links. The first is only for the home automation and the other is for personal and family use. 

I had used Eeros as the family net and had an old system of 6X Apple airports to support the home automation. I decided to migrate the home net to the Orbis after some research. However I have been unable to get them to work reliably. After a week or two trying to get all devices on the Orbi net I decided to switch and use the Eeros (x4 - 4000ft^2) for the automation and use the Orbis as my home net. The Eeros were able to handle all of the devices and all of my cameras. 

So I installed the Orbis (x2 - 5000ft^2) in my 3200 ft^2 home.  Since that time I have very unrelaible conenctions. Below I have screen shots of a MacBookPro (802.11ac) at 4 meters from the main router with 1 interior wall separating. Note that these are within minutes of each other on a network which provides 126 Mpbs to the router wired. AirportE is the Orbi net.