Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Main RBR50 Router

Tallrandal
Aspirant

Main RBR50 Router

I currently have the following setup: 

RBK50 AC3000 Wi-Fi System:

RBR50 Router

2x RBS50 (One running Wireless the other is wired via backhaul CAT 6 to garage) I had purchased second RBS50 from online so I could get the best coverage and speeds. I am covering a huge area and my garage is the hardest as I have metal door, fridge and microwave in-between attached garage and the house.  

Firmware: 2.2.1.210 for all 

RBR50 Setings:

Router Mode

20/40 Coexistence Off,

Daisy-Chain Topology: ON

Beamforming: ON

MU-MMIMO: ON

Fast Roaming: ON

ISP Modem:

Spectrum Gigabit internet (930 Mbps Average direct wire to modem)

Technicolor Model TC4400-AM

I have been running this system for about 7 months now. Everything has been really good. Coverage and speeds. I was one of the lucky ones that got a good firmware update. 

However, in the last month I have been having an issue with my RBR50 Router. Speeds via the wireless are maxing at 230 on almost all my devices. For testing I am using 3rd Generation iPad pro 12.9, iPhone XS Max and MacBook Pro 2017. However, when I test hardwire, I am getting 830 to 930 Mbps. 

Now if I switch my devices to the RBS50 that is using wired backhaul I am averaging 600 Mbps on wireless. I have not tested hardware as I don’t need it on this node.  

Upstairs I have another RBS50 using Wireless backhaul and I can average 380 to 450 Mbps wirelessly. This satellite has a about 18 devices running via wireless, so I expect the speeds to be slower. 

I have done close to 4 resets and modifications of every setting I could think of or saw on the Netgear Community forums. 

Any thoughts on why the main RBR50 would be so slow? I am wondering if I have a hardware issue...

Model: RBK50| Orbi AC3000 High-Performance Tri-Band WiFi System
Message 1 of 9