Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Multiple RBK53 systems in parallel - do they disturb each other?

Alpenbazi
Follower

Multiple RBK53 systems in parallel - do they disturb each other?

Hi everybody! I'm new to the Orbi family. I looked around here for quite a while, but didn't find a post answering my question.

Current setup: mid-size hotel, a single access point (AP) on every floor (ground/1st/2nd/3rd) connected to central ISP router via ethernet. WLAN is - you might guess it - pretty bad with increasing distance to the APs on each floor.

My plan: use 4 RBK53 systems in parallel, one for each floor (or even more, if necessary). In total 4 routers and 8 satellites. Each Orbi router (configured as access point) connected to central ISP router via already present ethernet. The 2 associated satellites belonging to each router connected via WiFi to the Orbi router on the same floor.

My question: is this a good idea? My concern is, if I use 4 (or even more) Orbi RBK53 systems (each consisting of a router and 2 satellites) in parallel: do they disturb each other?

One more question: if I do so, should I use a special configuration to support this setup - maybe manually assign different WiFi channels to the systems on different floors?

Model: RBK53|Orbi AC3000 Tri-band WiFi System
Message 1 of 3
FURRYe38
Guru

Would NOT be recommended. RBK50 series are designed for home environments. Not for hotels. 

You may want to check out Orbi Pro and see if these could work:

https://community.netgear.com/t5/Orbi-Pro-WiFi-for-Small-Business/bd-p/en-business-orbi-pro

Message 2 of 3
CrimpOn
Guru

This sort of screams out for a professional WiFi installer to do a survey of the building and recommend a solution.  Some random factors:

• How big is "mid size"?
  • Shape and dimensions of the building are important.