Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Multiple problems- RBR-50

CaraBethP
Tutor

Multiple problems- RBR-50

Good morning- My tech experience level is medium. I was a tech director of a school but never worked with wireless. I have several questions. Hope someone will have patience with my detailed explanation and give me some advice.

I purchased our Orbi RBR50 January 2018. We have a two story home so I also bought a satellite. It has been an outstanding wireless system and has worked flawlessly using the default settings and doing nothing special to it.

Two weeks ago there was an electrical storm. It knocked out internet in our entire neighborhood. When Spectrum came to repair, the tech guy said there was a connection outside that was damaged and he repaired it.  My desktop worked fine, but we had no wireless access. I resetup the Orbi's with no success. I called Spectrum again and that agent worked via internet magic to resetup the wireless on our Spectrum router. The only difference is- she set it up dual band where we had only been using it at 2.4 ghz. The wireless had previously been named "cardinal." She named the wireless network "cardinal" and "cardinal-5". 

I did not know much about using the 5 ghz, so we have not connected any of our devices to that wireless.  BUT- using the Orbi app, I see multiple devices connected to the 5ghz wireless. For example, my phone. My phone settings say it is on cardinal, not cardinal-5. The Orbi app says it is on the 5. Screenshot attached. wireless devices.jpg

Question 1- Why is the device list showing that things are connected to the 5 ghz network when I did not change any settings?  Is that an important thing?

My wired desktop has consistently achieved appropriate speeds. But our wireless has been inconsistent. I cannot figure out what the problem is. I don't know if it is Spectrum or if it is the Orbi.