Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Need Help Setting Up Orbi Outdoor RBS50

OrbiOutdoorHelp
Aspirant

Need Help Setting Up Orbi Outdoor RBS50

Hi folks,

I'm brand new too the Orbi club, and I'm hoping some kind soul who is smarter than myself can help me figure out why I'm unable to set up my new Orbi Outdoor range extender properly. I am a mildly tech-savvy mom, but not super confident I'm doing everything right.

Yesterday I was able to set up the Orbi AC2200 Mesh system with 2 satellites all by myself and it seems too be working great! Because I'm a Verizon FIOS customer with TV service enabled, I learned online that I had to set it up in Access Point (AP) mode and keep my existing FIOS router, so I did that. So far so good. Internet speeds are blazing fast.

Now today I'm attempting to add the Orbi Outdoor AC3000 extender into the mix so that we can get coverage in our backyard, but it's not going well. I've attempted to connect the Outdoor unit three different times so far, but keep getting the dreaded magenta light which means it's not connecting properly.

Here are the exact steps I'm following, per the user manual:

1. First, I made the determination that my Orbi Outdoor needs to be set up in "Extender Mode" since I do not have an "Orbi Router" (why? because my Orbi AC2000 unit is being used in AP mode, not router mode. I am still using my existing FIOS router). Not sure if this was the correct choice.

2. I placed the Orbi Outdoor unit near both my Orbi AC2000 unit and FIOS Router.

3. I plugged the Orbi Outdoor unit into the AC power, while ensuring the power button was OFF.

4. I pressed and held the Sync button while simultaneously pressing the power button to turn the unit on.