Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Need help isolating packet loss

5_olivers
Guide

Need help isolating packet loss

I have an Orbi RBK50 with 2 satellites connected via ethernet backhaul and 300 mbps internet connection. I have an HDHomerun Connect Quatro attached to the router via ethernet. The HD box is used to stream OTA to my Amazon Gen 2 Firesticks and it also feeds Emby. I am experiencing dropped TV streams from the HD box. I logged the problem with Silicon Dust, they ran diagnotisics on the logs, and the dropped streams are due to packet loss.I am experiencing the loss on both wired and wireless Amazon sticks.

I need some help isolating the cause of the packet loss. I am not a network expert. I understand the basics, but my knowledge is not very deep. To isolate and replicate the problem, I have had the diagnostics run on a wired AFTV stick and HD box that are both connected directly to the router via ethernet and I am watching TV via the HD app on AFTV. Just to confirm, no switch between the AFTV and HD box. Packet loss is confirmed and has been replicated with this configuration. Having said that, I cannot "control" when the packet loss occurs. When I experience a dropped signal, I send the log to SD and they review and confirm the problem (always dropped packets).

I have swapped ethernet cables, so that is ruled out. I have run a 200 ping test to the AFTV and HDHomerun. I only experience packet loss against the HDHomerun box. How can I confirm if the packet loss is due to my router or the HD box? My Orbi FW is 2.1.4.10