Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

New Orbi install

Kev77
Tutor

New Orbi install

Newbie here guys. I upgraded from a Netgear ac1750(Connected to PACE AC5268 through AT&T) to the AC3000 system. Took awhile to get everything synced and working but once it was working, it was not very good. I was getting all kind of speeds on the speed test... 1 time it would be 123mbps, next it would be 30-40mpbs, next 20-30mpbs, back up to 60-70mpbs. It also would drop the internet connection throughout the night. I read forums I checked some settings, and everything seems ok. About 11pm, I decided to hook up the ac1750 and run the Orbi in AP mode and it has worked great, getting a constant 110-120mpbs throughtout the house and 60-70 in the garage, no hiccups when streaming Directv Now. Only problem is I lose all the benefits of the Orbi, correct? I can no longer manage devices, parental controls, etc...Is there a trick in the settings that I'm overlooking? Does anyone have a list of what all advanced settings should be set to? The firmware is updated to the newest release. Thanks 

Model: RBK50| Orbi AC3000 High-Performance Tri-Band WiFi System
Message 1 of 16
FURRYe38
Guru

Re: New Orbi install

What mode is your PACE AC5268 working in? Modem/router mode or bridge?

Yes when the Orbi is in AP mode, none of the router features are neede in AP mode since AP mode doesn't require any routing and management features since there would be another router online that would be handling those features.

Couple of options,
1. Configure the modem for transparent bridge mode. Then use the Orbi router in router mode. Then you'll get all the Orbi router features.
2. If you can't bridge the modem, disable ALL wifi radios and uPnP on the modem, configure the modems DMZ for the IP address the Orbi router gets from the modem. Then you can use the Orbi router in Router mode.