Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

New To ORBI

Figg
Follower

New To ORBI

So, I am very new to ORBI, coming from an EERO mesh system.  Saw the 3 unit ORBI at costco for $299 after $100 off, and grabbed it.  I also got a google wifi mesh system as well to try both and return one.  Google didn't like my setup and started getting all glitchy and what not, also poor speeds.  Having said that, my system is Comcast service --> Arris SB6190 --> ORBI Router --> back to my TP Link 24 port switch, which is feeding another 24 port switch.  I also have 2 of the satellites hardwired back to the ORBI router for backhaul, the other 2 satellites are connected to the switches for the same result. Both switches are unmanaged switches, so the ORBI is doing the routing.  Bought 2 more Satellites off facebook market for my shop.  So In all, I have 1 router, and 3 satellites.  Just updated the purchased satellites to latest firmware so everything is now running V2.3.5.30.

Honestly, I like the robustness of this system, I have great throughput anywhere in my house and my shop as well.  I like that the router is bigger than a hocky puck and actually has some power at its disposal to route.  But I have to say, it hasn't been super consistant.  It's not my ISP, but every now and then, the wifi will not work.  The wired stuff still works though.  So, it's as if the wifi stops, but my devices stay connected and have good wifi signal, just won't surf, wifi only though.  When I go to my desktop and log in using the orbilogin page, it will sometimes say internet status is WAITING.  Then sometimes I can refresh and it will say GOOD.  Bottom line, whenever is states waiting, my wifi is frozen.  But everything hardwired is still good.