Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

ORBI RBR50v2 WiFi Analytics /performance question

PaceCarGuy
Aspirant

ORBI RBR50v2 WiFi Analytics /performance question

Hello, excuse me if this has been asked before, I scanned the site but did not see anything listed to address this specificially.  

To start, my Orbi router and Satellite are working great!  I am using a 200Mb DSL Fiber Service, and getting 225-235Mb download speed and 220-225Mb Upload speeds from both wired and WiFi connections.  

I am new to Orbi, and this is replacing an old Luma WiFi mesh network I had in place.  

But using Netgear WiFi Analytics, from an Android Phone, with the phone saying it is connected to 5G, in any point in the house it reports signal strength of 100% at 433Mbps.  

I guess I should be happy, but oddly enough, when I had my Luma Mesh up, Netgear Analytics was reporting 100% at 866Mbps?  

The specs for this model Orbi states that it can deliver "Up to 866 Mbps for newer devices that support 5 GHz and 802.11 ac".

When I login to the Orbi router, on the advanced screen for Wireless I see :

WIRELESS SETTINGS (GENERAL)
RegionNorth America

2.4G ChannelAuto ( 6 )

2.4G ModeUp to 400 Mbps

5G Channel36+40+44+48(P)

5G ModeUp to 866.7 Mbps

So, am I good?  Is it just the Analytics tool not reporting correctly for some reason or does something need to be tweaked?  

I am running the following software versions :

- Android app 2.4.12.869

- Orbi Firmware v2.3.5.30

I did notice there is a newer version of the firmware available, but my device does not recognize any new updates available and I have seen some posts noting it causes performance problems.  

Thanks in advance.

Model: RBR50|Orbi AC3000 Tri-band WiFi Router
Message 1 of 6
CrimpOn
Guru

Re: ORBI RBR50v2 WiFi Analytics /performance question