Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Orb RB40 MAJOR DNS Issue

kmikol42
Tutor

Orb RB40 MAJOR DNS Issue

My $300 dollar Orbi investemnt appears to be a waste of money after 4 months use.  All of a sudden the Router stops responding to DNS requests.  I work in the network engineering field and have over 20 years of experience and ths issue is definalty with the router.  After searching forums about this issue, I am seeing tons of customers with the same type of problem, the issue does not appear to be new to Netgear.  I can expect bugs/hardware issue in network equipment, what I can except is a company that will not provide adequate support to address the problem, nor does it appear that they care about the problem since I see threads abou tthis across multiple product lines and from long time ago.

Issue - DNSMASQ service stopps responding - I can fix it by either toggling DNS servive from DHCP to static, or by telneting into the device and issue a command to restart the service.  /etc/init.d/dnsmasq restart   Issue resolves itself quickly by doing one of these two things.  Also when I hard code my PC to use a google dns server, issue does not happen on PC, all other devices that get thier DHCP from the Orbi router stop functioing.

Major Problem - With the pandemic I have kids e-learning at home, they are not tech savy and can't fix the issue themselves.

I tried to hard code thier school issued laptops to a static google DNS entry but as you expect the school does not allow students to get to the TCP/IP properties on the laptop.