Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Orbi RBK50 major headache

Triumph-man
Aspirant

Orbi RBK50 major headache

Hi All

Im having an absolute nightmare !

Please someone help before I go insane.

Ive set up my orbi at least 3 times now and ive had it working at least once

Using it through a BT smarthub.

Ive downloaded the orbi software onto my samsung tab s3 but this keeps blocking me so I suspect it has something to do with my issue.

Anyway, pc is now connected to Orbi but everything keeps reporting "No internet access"

I had it working last night, but today its gone back to wifi only.

Im an absolute novice and will require a step by step guide as I simply dont understand whats going on here

Someone please give me the benefit of your experience

Model: RBK50| Orbi AC3000 High-Performance Tri-Band WiFi System
Message 1 of 17
FURRYe38
Guru

Re: Orbi RBK50 major headache

What FW is currently loaded?
What is the Mfr and model# of the ISP modem the NG router is connected too? Most BT Smart Hubs have a built in router and wifi already which will cause a double NAT condition and connection problems with a external router connected such as the Orbi.

Modem Combo Units:
Couple of options,
1. Configure the modem for transparent bridge mode. Then use the Orbi router in router mode. You'll need to contact the ISP for help and information in regards to the modem being bridged correctly.
2. If you can't bridge the modem, disable ALL wifi radios on the modem, configure the modems DMZ for the IP address the Orbi router gets from the modem. Then you can use the Orbi router in Router mode.
3. Or disable all wifi radios on the modem and connect the Orbi router to the modem, configure AP mode on the Orbi router. https://kb.netgear.com/31218/How-do-I-configure-my-Orbi-router-to-act-as-an-access-point and https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H7LOcJ8GdDo&app=desktop