Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Orbi RBK50 with Xfinity (Arris TG862G) modem/router

earoberts
Aspirant

Orbi RBK50 with Xfinity (Arris TG862G) modem/router

Hello All: I have an Orbi RBK50 mesh system (router & 1 satellite) to install with my Comcast Xfinity modem/router. From what I have read so far, I should enable bridge mode on the Xfinity as well as disable the xfinitywifi hotspot. Then wire the Orbi to the Xfinity and proceed with the instructions on the Netgear app (or manual or online how-to). However, my brother-in-law - who swears by this system and actually talked with a tech at NetGear about this - tells me I definitely have to be on the phone with NetGear tech support before I do this. I'm no engineer, but I'm not a dunce, either, so I'm wondering if I really need to wait for tech support and then have him/her walk me through this? And if so, any advice on getting through easily? Is NetGear tech pretty responsive and patient? What else should I look out for? Is there a better step-by-step instruction than "How do I install my NetGear or Orbi router after I've enabled bridging"? 

Thanks for your patience and any advice for a newbie. Doing this sort of stuff is not how I like to spend my time so I'm trying to get prepared before I actually start disconecting the existing hardware. My wife is working from home and doesn't like the idea of days with no internet.  

Cheers,

Andy

Message 1 of 10

Accepted Solutions
Mikey94025
Hero

Re: Orbi RBK50 with Xfinity (Arris TG862G) modem/router

@earoberts wrote:

However, my brother-in-law - who swears by this system and actually talked with a tech at NetGear about this - tells me I definitely have to be on the phone with NetGear tech support before I do this.