Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Orbi RBR40 No wifi when computer is off

orionrph
Aspirant

Orbi RBR40 No wifi when computer is off

I'm a networking newbie and need some help. When my computer is off, when wifi is off as well. I've got my Orbi connected to the modem and my computer connects to the wifi wirelessly. There are 18 devices connected to the network normally. When I shut down my computer, the wifi signal ceases and the satellites turn magenta. The Orbi router stays powered and its LED blinks white like it is rebooting. I don't understand the problem. If anyone has any ideas, I'd appreciate the input. Thanks in advance.
Message 1 of 11
FURRYe38
Guru

What Firmware is currently loaded?
What is the Mfr and model# of the ISP modem the NG router is connected too?
Is the Orbi system operating in Router or AP mode?

When computer is off WiFi coming from the Orbi should remain ON always. 

Message 2 of 11
orionrph
Aspirant

Firmware v2.3.5.30

Modem Arris model BGW210

Orbi is in router mode.

Another thing of note: Whenever I put my computer in sleep mode, it wakes up within 5 seconds. I then investigated and found that my computer's network card was waking the computer. I then disabled "allow this device to wake computer" and the computer would no longer wake, but the wifi was off from Orbi. So, I've just left my computer on until the problem with the wifi is fixed. I use Windows 10.

Thanks again.

Message 3 of 11
FURRYe38
Guru

Your ISP Modem already has a built in router and wifi. This would be a double NAT condition which isn't recommended. https://kb.netgear.com/30186/What-is-Double-NAT
https://kb.netgear.com/30187/How-to-fix-issues-with-Double-NAT
Couple of options,