Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Orbi RBR50 Satellite dropping connection

jung89
Aspirant

Orbi RBR50 Satellite dropping connection

I have been using the Orbi RBK50 for 5 months.  All of sudden, the satellite is dropping connection constantly.  I have checked the Firware version as suggested by many and it is on the lastest rev: 2.1.3.4  I have done factory reset and resync to no avail.  Any other suggestions?

Model: RBK50| Orbi AC3000 High-Performance Tri-Band WiFi System
Message 1 of 8
AC641
Luminary

Downgrade your firmware to v2.1.2.18.  I had similar issues as have others and reverting to the previous firmware resolved the issue.

Message 2 of 8
jung89
Aspirant

I will do it now...do I have to downgrade the router to the same firmware version I assume?

Message 3 of 8
FURRYe38
Guru

After you updated to v2.1.3.4, you needed to perform a factory reset on both router and satellite(s) then set them up from scratch. Many other others reported having continued issues after the FW update however doing a reset on everything and set up from scratch resolved there problems. I saw this as well. v2.1.3.4 works well. Ya the factory reset isn't normal however for this one specifc version of FW, it's needed. Please give it a try. 

@jung89 wrote:

I have been using the Orbi RBK50 for 5 months.  All of sudden, the satellite is dropping connection constantly.  I have checked the Firware version as suggested by many and it is on the lastest rev: 2.1.3.4  I have done factory reset and resync to no avail.  Any other suggestions?

Message 4 of 8
RobertHBJ
Aspirant