Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Orbi RBR50 installation problem

Guex
Follower

Orbi RBR50 installation problem

Hi,

I purchased this Orbi, recommended by a friend, to help with current slow internet.

I currently have a modem that I lease from Centurylink - which is my provider.

I was told I could replace this router with the Orby router, but when I tried to install it, it tells me to connect it to my current modem., which I did. However, now nothing works.

My question: can the Orbi router replace the current modem and be a stand-alone or do I need a modem in addition?

I am a layman and need help desperately. Anybody please?

Thank you inadvance.

Helena

Message 1 of 8
Obi-La
Guide

Unfortunatly yes you will still need a modem. Not the Ethernet port input on the Orbi, that will connect to the same type connector on a modem or modem/router. You didn't say is your CenturyLink internet is DSL or Fiber. DSL modems can be purchased cheap, you can probably find one like you have on eBay. If not, check Amazon or just do a web search using the model number on the tag. In many cases other models will work, often info on a given modem will state which internet providers it will work with.
Message 2 of 8
FURRYe38
Guru

A stand alone modem would be preferred if your going to use the Orbi system. No need for another router with the modem since the Orbi would be doing same thing. 

@Guex wrote:

Hi,

I purchased this Orbi, recommended by a friend, to help with current slow internet.

I was told I could replace this router with the Orby router, but when I tried to install it, it tells me to connect it to my current modem., which I did. However, now nothing works.

My question: can the Orbi router replace the current modem and be a stand-alone or do I need a modem in addition?

Thank you inadvance.

Helena

Message 3 of 8
vajim
Master