Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Orbi RBR50

lauriegaines
Tutor

Orbi RBR50

I have been using my Orbi for about 3 years without issue.  My wi-fi recently went out and CenturyLink installed a new modem.  Ever since they did that, my ORBI has not worked.  I have tried plugging and unplugging, resetting but that it about the limit of my technological capability.  I get a purple light which I think means it cannot connect somehow.  I have no "app" or installation information or any idea how to get Orbi and my new router to communicate.  Any suggestions?

Message 1 of 8
plemans
Guru

what modem did they install? 

Centurlylink tends to install modem/router combo devices. 

It causes a double nat. 

A double nat happens when you cascade more than 1 router.
https://kb.netgear.com/30186/What-is-Double-NAT
Fixes? There’s 3 options but only use 1.
1. Put the modem/gateway in modem only/pass through mode. This disables its routing functions.
2. Leave the modem/gateway in router mode but put the Netgears IP address into its DMZ. This forwards the data to the netgear. You can either leave the modem/gateway’s wireless enabled or disabled. Just make sure its using a different wifi channel to prevent interference
3. Put the Netgear into access point mode. This disables its routing functions. Wifi/ethernet still works but it does disable some features.
https://kb.netgear.com/26765/Which-features-are-disabled-on-my-NETGEAR-router-when-it-is-set-to-AP-M...

Message 2 of 8
lauriegaines
Tutor