Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Orbi Satelite keeps loosing connection with router

GASkinner
Tutor

Orbi Satelite keeps loosing connection with router

I have been using Orbi for 2+ years now, generally no problems.

For no obvious reason my satelitte has started randomly loosing connection with the router and the ring turns magenta.

Both the router and satelite are on firmaware V2.3.1.44

Rebooting re-establishes connection but, short before long it is lost again.

The location of both are exactly as they have been for the last 2 years, maybe 25 ft apart, ground floor and first floor.

Any help much appreciated.

Model: RBR50|Orbi AC3000 Tri-band WiFi Router
Message 1 of 25
FURRYe38
Guru

What is the Mfr and model# of the ISP modem the NG router is connected too?

What is the size of your home? Sq Ft?
What is the distance between the router and satellite(s)? 30 feet is recommended in between them to begin with depending upon building materials when wirelessly connected. 25 feet maybe a bit too close. 

What channels are you using? Auto? Try setting manual channel 1, 6 or 11 on 2.4Ghz and any unused channel on 5Ghz.
Any Wifi Neighbors near by? If so, how many?

Try enabling Beamforming and MIMO and WMM. Under Advanced Tab/Advanced Settings/Wireless Settings

Message 2 of 25
GASkinner
Tutor

Modem - Bell Home Hub 3000

Distance between router and satelite - max 25 ft.

Home is 3,000ft

My issue is nothing has chnaged on my setup since I've been using this system. Same location, same settings, same modem, same neigibour wi-fi profile (every house around me).

Message 3 of 25
FURRYe38
Guru

Understand that nonthing may have changed however surrounding environment may have.