Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Orbi - Severe​ Lockups / Drops WiFi & Satellites (v1.10.1.2)

DoubleGate
Follower

Orbi - Severe​ Lockups / Drops WiFi & Satellites (v1.10.1.2)

Orbi RBK53 WiFi - Firmware: v1.10.1.2 - All Devices, All OS's - Single Family Home w/ No Interference

Looks like I'm having similar issues to many with the new firmware ... WiFi is dropping both the satellite(s) back-haul channel and all WiFi devices every 10-15 seconds. I can literally see them popping on and off the 'Attached Devices' listing. It was somewhat unstable with the previous firmware revision, but nothing to this degree.

This is VERY frustrating, to say the least. I'm a computer / network engineer by trade -- so having this happen at the house is unacceptable. I was literally up until 2am last night trying various combinations of settings / resets / firmware re-flashes in an attempted to get stability settled in. Even tried moving the router/satellites around physically in last-ditch efforts. No-go. I'm considering a firmware downgrade just to have something - even at the risk of bricking the devices. This appears to be a hardware issue (not sure firmware will eventually fix this). The satellites have plenty of airflow and are in line-of-sight of the base router (also out in the open).

Since I'm on Layer3 TV, this also limits my ability to watch / DVR anything. The kids are not happy! The wife is very not happy!! I'm second-guessing any technical accumen I thought I had.

Luckily, I kept four nodes of a ten node Plume WiFi around ... I was able to reattach those to my router (Gigabit-speed Fios) this morning -- at this point, I've just cut power to the three Orbi units; they are only useful as paperweights right now. At least I have rock-solid network stability (and TV!), albeit at a reduced speed vs. Orbi, with the Plume mesh.