Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Orbi Throttling Wired Ethernet connection

RBTP
Aspirant

Orbi Throttling Wired Ethernet connection

All,

I'm new to the forum, and having an issue regarding my Orbi RBK50 limiting/throttling my wired Ethernet.  The WiFi portion works great, it is only an issue with the wired ethernet.  Here is what is happening.

I've been using the Orbi for a few months now on my cable Internet system (Xfinity) getting the signal through an older Motorola Surfboard modem with pretty decent speed of around 120Mbps.  I upgraded my service to 250Mbps but found out my old cable modem was not capable of the new speeds, so purchased a new Xfinity recommended cable modem, an Arris Surfboard SB8200, capable of up to 1Gbps.  No problems hooking it all up and getting the new modem activated.  WiFi works great, as my wireless speeds are now over 250Mbps!!

The problem is my direct Cat5e cable connection to my desktop from the Orbi.  Running the cable from the connection on the back of the Orbi to my computer doesn't reflect even the old speeds, but results in only 20Mbps speeds (yes...20), a fraction of what I was getting before and what I am getting on WiFi.  It is not the cable as I can bypass the Orbi completely by plugging the same Cat5e cable from my computer directly into the Arris Modem and get almost 300Mbps speeds.  I've also tried plugging the cable into a different Ethernet port on the back of the Orbi (3 available) with the same very slow results.  Orbi WiFi is good...wired horrible.

My concern is I will eventually be setting up my satellite via a wired backhaul due to the location, and that I will get this limited very slow speed rather than what I am supposed to be getting.

I saw some old posts regarding doing a full factory reset as a possible fix.  Is there some other setting or option available to correct this problem?

Thanks