Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Orbi and BT FTTP

StuMcBill
Tutor

Orbi and BT FTTP

Hi,

I've just installed my new Orbi and Satellite system connecting to my BT Homehub 6 (with a FTTP connection).

My FTTP box on the wall connects to my BT Homehub via ethernet, and I have connected the Orbi router to an ethernet port on my BT Homehub.  I've enabled Access Point mode on the Orbi and everything seems to be working fine.  I haven't turned the Wifi off on my BT Homehub yet, as my Sky Q box relies on it at the moment, and I can't change it yet.

Is there anything else I should be doing?  Is there anyway I can completley get rid of the BT hardware, or do I need to utilize the modem part of it?

I'm not a total newbie at Wifi networks, but double NAT and DMZ is a bit above my head.

Is there an idiots guide, or has anyone got any tips for setting this up correctly?

Thanks,

Stewart

Edit - I've just gone back to router mode as I want to utilise the parental controls.

Model: RBK50| Orbi AC3000 High-Performance Tri-Band WiFi System
Message 1 of 20

Accepted Solutions
StuMcBill
Tutor

Hi guys,

Connected directly to the FTTP and the orbi is churning away like a champ!  All sorted now!

Now the task of changing every single WiFi device to the new network.

Out of curiosity, how secure is the password that comes on the sticker on the box, presumably its just a random password generator that spews these out.  I've changed mine, but have often wondered how secure they are?

View solution in original post

Message 17 of 20

All Replies
FURRYe38
Guru

Leave the wifi disabled on the BT modem. 

Modem Combo Units Guide:
Couple of options,
1. Configure the modem for transparent bridge mode. Then use the Orbi router in router mode. You'll need to contact the ISP for help and information in regards to the modem being bridged correctly.