Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Orbi dropping wireless, now rebooting itself. I am SO SICK OF THIS!

TheCRV
Initiate

Orbi dropping wireless, now rebooting itself. I am SO SICK OF THIS!

I am an IT Professional and I have bought this Orbi RBK50 system for my home network, since my family and I have recently moved into a 3600 sq ft house.

This system has been nothing but trouble since day one.  I have went through all of Netgear's technical support steps and am currently on the debug firmware.  I have given Netgear time to get their act together (around 3.5 months, if I remember correctly).  I am well outside of Best Buy's return window.

When I purchased and setup my Orbi, it was buggy, but usable.  Every single firmware release has made things incrementally worse, to the point where I cannot maintain a wireless connnection for more than 20 minutes.  In the past, it would just drop and then reconnect the clients.  Now, it appears the entire system is rebooting itself every half hour to an hour.

Can you understand how much time I have wasted on this thing?  In addition to following Netgear's troubleshooting steps, I am constantly encountering failed downloads of drivers, operating systems, etc.  I have to checksum everything that I download (if a checksum is provided), or download everything twice and then checksum them against each other.  That is how buggy this thing is.  And now you're offering it to business users?!

When a company releases a product, it should work.  You have failed, Netgear, and I am beyond furious.  It's like I have donated $400 to you (unwillingly) for your R&D.  I can't even sell this thing on eBay, because I, unlike you, have a conscience.

All I want is my money back, or a brand new replacement set (that works), in exchange for your failed product.  I have considerable wealth at my disposal, since I own a corporation.