Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Orbi firmware update v2.1.4.16 availability

swellvue
Tutor

Where did you find firmware for the RBS50Y that is not v2.1.3.4?   My RBR50+RBS50 units auto-updated to 2.1.4.16 today (where on 2.1.4.10) but the RBS50Y's have been stuck on 2.1.3.4 for awhile now.

Message 201 of 809
cheshbr
Apprentice

I am running my Orbi RBK 50 system in AP mode and have done so since acquiring my Orbis in March 2018, and as a consequence of this I have no experience with Orbis in router mode.  I have also upgraded to FW V2.1.4.16.

I do have a wired backhaul working.  My backhaul ethernet cable is connected to one of my Orbi router's LAN ports and goes directly to my Orbi satellite via a small patch panel.  

Initially the satellite was on the 5Ghz WiFi backhaul.  Then after upgrading to v2.1.4.16, I confirmed that the system was operating as it should.  I checked the attached devices list on both Orbis using the web interface, and waited a day or so to ensure the system was stable, then I plugged in the cable.  There were a number blue and magenta ovals for a while, so I swapped the cable on the Orbi router from port 2, to port 3 and within seconds wired backhaul was operating and continues to remain stable.  

I can't explain this, so I speculate that it might be like instructions on a device you connect to USB that says if it doesn't work try another USB port.  Go figure. 

Anyway it works.  

Model: RBK50| Orbi AC3000 High-Performance Tri-Band WiFi System
Message 202 of 809
cheshbr
Apprentice

FW v2.1.4.16 for the RBS50Y is on the first post on page 1 of this topic.  Follwing is a link

https://community.netgear.com/t5/Orbi/Orbi-firmware-update-v2-1-4-16-availability/td-p/1584969/highl...

Message 203 of 809
swellvue
Tutor