Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Orbi in Malaysia

melvinchng
Apprentice

3D Printed a wall mount base to mount my Orbi on the wall 🙂 It looks amazing!

29366415_1883730398312723_907522457886261248_n.jpg

Message 51 of 94
xanderwong
Tutor

Hi @melvinchng,

I have been using my RBK40 for about 6 months now, got it from Harvey Norman. My Orbi works wonderfully when it works, but if there's a power outage or network maintenance being done, it's a nightmare for me.

My Orbi unit connects to Time Fiber, I set it up using the usual way, connecting it to the provided modem by Time. Entered the necessary login information for Time's PPPoE setup. The thing I really hate is that, should a disconnect happens, I always need to do a full power cycle, and redo the username and password login. Orbi would throw me a message saying the login details are wrong, but internet connection recovers. It would never auto-reconnect for some reason (this thing I despise the most about it).

And since today, because there was power outage in my apartment, it will not connect anymore. I tried the usual steps I take to re-establish internet connection (it always works, albeit throwing me error message saying wrong login details). This time, it simply wouldn't connect anymore. So I have no choice, but to use back the default router provided by Time, which works flawlessly. Only gripe was that its range was abysmal.

Any help you could offer to not make my Orbi an expensive paper weight?

Message 52 of 94
melvinchng
Apprentice

Just saw your mention; Looks like there is a delay in sending out the email to notify me.

Let me ask you some questions to get my brain sorted out. It sounds like there is something wrong with your Orbi configuration at this point.

1. In the advanced tab > setup > internet setup: is your connection mode set to "Always On"