Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Orbi initial setup

Spirit
Tutor

Orbi initial setup

I am new to Orbi and Netgear. I was having trouble setting up my new Orbi router and satellites - first time I have ever done something like this.

So I typed "Orbi Phone Support" into Google and this website popped up: https://www.orbi-setup.com/.

I called the toll free number and got a call back. I gave the person some personal info. It took me about 15 minutes to realize this was not Netgear. I feel so stupid. Anybody know if I am in kind of security danger.

Model: RBR50|Orbi AC3000 Tri-band WiFi Router
Message 1 of 4
FURRYe38
Guru

Re: Orbi initial setup

Ya this is not official NG site. 

What kind of information did you give them? Hopefully just ur name and maybe address. Put that number on a blocked caller list if you have that kind of phone support. 

Message 2 of 4
Spirit
Tutor

i gave him my name, email and phone number.

Then he took remote access of my PC and told me that I had something called an alaurean (bug) on my PC.

He then tried to sell me some software. It was only at that point that I realized it wasn't Netgear.

My biggest concern is that my Password Manager was open on my device (I am such an idiot).

I have changed the master password and some ket passwords (banks, etc) and thankfully all seems ok

at this moment.  The "orbi" site that I went on is so info intensive that it is hard to believe that this is a scam

but I assume it is.

I did a reverse phone lookup and the number also points to other router makers like asus and linksys.

Who are these people and what do they really want?

Message 3 of 4
FURRYe38
Guru

Lordy. Smiley Frustrated

I recommend changing PWs on everything. 

I would remove any odd programs seen on your PC thru the Control Panel, add/remove programs section.