Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Orbi or Nighthawk with access points?

NCRobino
Follower

Orbi or Nighthawk with access points?

Hello,

I'm really seeking some good solid advice here folks regarding upgrading my existing Apple AirPorts to a mesh or router with access point system.  I'm not a big pro here, I do know some as you'll see below.  But, I am definately drawn to the convenience of the mesh system all working together in one app with easy setup etc.  After much effort, my Airport setup still dissapoints with frequent slow loading video, poor range overall etc.  It's time to upgrade.  Here's my situation:

Currently:

1. I have 1 Airport Extreme and 2 Airport Expresses. 

Airport Extreme connects via thernet to both Expresses, cable I've run one way or another when using them as repeaters wirelessly failed miserably.  It's a pretty big house I'm covering here.

2. Whats so important is that I have MANY many devices connected well beyond phones and tablets.  I need a router system that can handle that.  Also, I need a system that can handle playing music via AirPlay through iTunes flawlessly.  Currently, my wired speakers handle it great and my 4 wireless speakers work 90% of the time, which is acceptable, barely.   I've read that Orbi has had some issues with reliability when it comes to airplay, so that's a concern.

Scenario 1:  Orbi

1. Replace the 3 Airports with a 2 unit Orbi system.  I could still keep my Airport expresses connected in bridge mode and use them for airplay speakers, connected via ethernet branched off the main router.  The wifi would need to feed the rest of the wireless speakers in the house however.