Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Philips Hue not working

Bosgirl
Aspirant

Philips Hue not working

We have 28 philips hue bulbs in our home with a Hue bridge. Yesterday we setup orbi on the 2.4 network on Comcast. All of our Echos, ADT pulse Wemos, PS4, phones and tablets worked perfectly. We could not get the Hue to work at all. The Hue Bridge was direct connect into the Ethernet port of Orbi. It was visible on the Orbi app and green. I couldn’t connect to the Hue app (it would just spin “connecting” endlessly.), and I couldn’t even use the Hue app to control the lights. After over an hour on the phone with Netgear support, nothing. They said all was fine on their end - see ya later. We are about to return the Orbi because with over 1K in lightbulbs, if I can’t tell Alexa to turn stuff on and off for me - orbi is useless to me. I am NOT technical so I need “baby step” help on this please!
Model: RBK50| Orbi AC3000 High-Performance Tri-Band WiFi System
Message 1 of 8
AC641
Luminary

What version of firmware do you have installed on the Orbi Router and Satellite/s?  There was a known issue with a previous version of firmware, ensure you have v2.1.4.16 and report back.  You can update from within the Router's GUI.

Message 2 of 8
Bosgirl
Aspirant

Thank you for your reply. The tech at Netgear had us run all the firmware updates
Message 3 of 8
AC641
Luminary

I know it's a complete pain in the a**e but have you tried a complete reset of the Hue Hub?  I had to do this following the installation of the updated Orbi firmware.  It highlighted a weakness in teh Hue system in that you cannot back-up your settings for reinstalltion following a reset.

Message 4 of 8
Bosgirl
Aspirant