Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

RBK43 kit and some direction for ethernet access.

SolomonMan
Tutor

RBK43 kit and some direction for ethernet access.

All,

I have a fairly new RBK43 kit (couple weeks now).

I have been very happy with this kit in my 3800 square foot farm house.

I get excellent reception most everywhere on my 4 acre property with only my corner lot markers where I get about 2-3 bars on the WIFI symbol. Basically I can stream anywhere on my property without buffering. I spent a couple hours looking for bad locations but its really not easy to find one.

The farm has a couple outbuildings (within a 100 feet of the house) that with my Mesh system has FULL bars even in the far corners of the outbuilding compared to the house. The largest outbuilding is a 46X46 and has a WIFI TV and no problem yet.

I am a Software Engineer and have been in computers for about 40 years (First computer TRS-80 COCO).

So I have a number of Ethernet Wired only devices (no WIFI). I would like to setup a small network in the one outbuilding thats a wired network and connect it wirelessly to the ORBI System. I have also considered one in the house but I probably could use one of the Orbi Satellites(?) and a switch.

I would like to utilize current hardware but would consider other options.

Current equipment I have on hand is a WAC104 Access Point (2X) and a R6300V2 Router (1X). This is the newest network equipment. I do have a couple Dlink Access Points but they are more than a decade old.

Could any of this current equipment be used? If so what would the setup be called (Bridge,repeater?). How?

Thanks for all the help,

Chris

Message 1 of 4
CrimpOn
Guru

Re: RBK43 kit and some direction for ethernet access.

The WAC104 appears perfect for this situation
Message 2 of 4
SolomonMan
Tutor

CrimpOn/All,

How would I set it up?

As a repeater?