Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

RBR40 won't connect to new Netgear cable modem on Comcast/Xfinity

NateW
Aspirant

RBR40 won't connect to new Netgear cable modem on Comcast/Xfinity

I have an RBR40 Orbi Mesa router and satellite.  My Arris modem died and I got a new Netgear CM1050V cable modem for Comcast/Xfinity because I use voice and I wanted DOCSIS 3.1.  I got the modem all setup and Comcast has a new online reprovisioning service that didn't even require me to enter the MAC addr or anything.  Pretty sweet we finally have progress after all these years.  So I connect the modem to my laptop to do the online provisioning and the internet starts working etc after a bit.  I then connect it to my Orbi router and I could not get it to work even after connecting to the Orbi web service and try a bunch of tricks.  I'm a software engineer and I know how to test networks.  So I go online and (not using my Orbi because I couldn't get it to get an IP assigned to it unlike my laptop) and search for solutions.  Several people post to use the Orbi app.  I hadn't tried that yet because I was using the more comprehensive webservice UI.  I go to the app and in the upper left menu I select "New Setup" which is didn't want to do as I didn't want it to overwrite all my settings.  But after everything else failed, I figured I'd try it out.  It has some basic turn off modem and turn back on and make sure it's connected steps.  But finally, that was the trick that got my Orbi to recognize the new Netgear modem.