Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: RBR50 Flashing White light

Etmom1
Aspirant

RBR50 Flashing White light

Lost power yesterday and the router stopped working (no power surge, it's on a UPS).  Now, it continually flashes the white ring on top.  The power light on the back is green.  Have confirmed that the modem is working. I've attempted the factory reset (putting a paperclip in the reset hole, waited for the power light to turn amber - never did).  I'm stuck. At this point, I'm extremely disappointed in Netgear.  We are 4-6 weeks out of warranty and it looks that I will need to pay $$$ for tech support.  I can't believe that a $300 system only works for a year. Any suggestions?  Tech novice here so I don't have the capabilty to do anything drastic.  Thanks!

Model: RBR50|Orbi AC3000 Tri-band WiFi Router
Message 1 of 12

@Etmom1 wrote:

Have confirmed that the modem is working.

What is that modem?

Power cuts usually take out both the modem and the router on a network. When the power comes back on, they may start up in the wrong order, with the router starting before the modem is ready. That means that they get confused about which is in charge.

Be sure to restart your network in this sequence:

• Turn off and unplug modem.
  • Turn off router and computers.
  • Plug in and turn on modem. Wait 2 minutes for it to connect.
  • Turn on the router and wait 2 minutes for it connect.
  • Turn on computers and rest of network.

Message 2 of 12
Mstrbig
Master

Was your Orbi's network cable protected as well? A sugre can come through network cable as easy as through power. That could affect and damage the Orbi's ports.
Make sure orbi is off.
Unplug the router leaving the power supply plugged in for a good 3 minutes.