Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: RBR50 Freezing after V2.7.3.22 Update

bote
Aspirant

RBR50 Freezing after V2.7.3.22 Update

I've been using Orbi for several years now with very mixed results, but nothing a wired connection couldn't fix.  The latest firmware update(V2.7.3.22) however has completely ruined my home network. Once or twice an hour my Orbi will lock up or freeze, or something similar. This made my network unuseable, both online and locally. When this happens I can't access the Orbi administration interface at all.  I've done a factory reset, but that didn't help the situation at all. 

Has anyone experienced this and know of a possible fix? 

Model: RBR50|Orbi AC3000 Tri-band WiFi Router
Message 1 of 29

Accepted Solutions
bote
Aspirant

I ended up resolving this with an older firmware version, and then I used custom firmware to stop auto updates.  It's perfect now but I'm changing to an RBR(S)750 setup, as I managed to get a good deal on a set. 

I'll mark this as solved now.  Thank you for the help to all that replied. Older firmware fixes the problem for anyone who finds this post via google. Whatever way you can come up with for staying at an older firmware is up to you.  I would assume using another router to block the upgrade servers could work with little issue if you run orbi in AP mode. Avoid v2.7.3.22.

View solution in original post

Message 28 of 29

All Replies
CrimpOn
Guru