Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: RBR50 Keeps disconnectiog

chubbyhubby
Aspirant

RBR50 Keeps disconnectiog

Greetings All,

1st post, so a total newb on this, needless to say. I've had the RBR50 for over a year, but recently it shows the magenta ring at least 3 times a day. I normally unplug & plug back in, or cycle the power switch. Internet reconnects within a few minutes. Very frustrating to have this (not so cheap) undependable router. I can't say for sure when the issue started. It was fine previously. 

As for the details, I have FW 2.5.0.38, and am in router mode. Beamforming, MU-MIMO, and Fast roaming are all turned off, if it matters. I also have one satellite hooked up, app 35 ft away. 

My modem is an Arris SB8200. ISP is RCN 330 Meg and has been rock solid in its' delivery. Both router & modem are plugged into a UPC UPS backup.

I'm not sure what else I need to post for help troubleshooting. I haven't done a factory reset yet, as this will be a PIA due to everything I have running.

Please help as I need to get this back to being dependable once again. I'd rather not switch to an Eero, but will if this can't be resolved....

Many thanks in advance,

CH

Model: RBR50|Orbi AC3000 Tri-band WiFi Router
Message 1 of 15
tomschmidt
Virtuoso

@chubbyhubby , you are running v2.5.0.x firmware, and it was retracted by Netgear after many bugs and stability issues were found. NG disabled autoupdate in recent releases due to the issues that it has caused.  I suggest manually upgrading your RBR50 to v2.5.1.8 available from https://www.netgear.com/suppzio fort/product/RBR50.aspx#download

1. Backup your settings of the RBR50 router (in case you need to restore or revert)

2. Download the zip file for both the RBR50 router and any satellites you have

3. Unzip the files

4. Manually upgrade the firmware on the satellites first using their image file