Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: RBR50 & CAX80 Conflict

It_might_be
Aspirant

RBR50 & CAX80 Conflict

I have been using an RBR50 and satellites for a couple of years now. I recently upgraded cable service and bought a CAX80.  RBR50 and CAX80 wifi's conflicted with each other (including in access point mode for the RBR50's) and I have had to turn off the wifi on the CAX80 and reset the RBR50 back to factory settings and am now using only the RBR50 and satelites to provide wifi. System, has now been stable and not dropped for about 3 days (was dropping daily before).

Issue I am having is that I cannot see the RBR50 anylonger. I have tried all advertised login options: orbilogin.com, orbilogin.net., 192.168.1.1, 10.0.0.1  as well as trying to access the IP address that the CAX80 has assigned the Orbi. 

I would like to access the Orbi interface directly, but have run out of ideas. 

Thank you.

Model: RBR50|Orbi AC3000 Tri-band WiFi Router
Message 1 of 14

Accepted Solutions
FURRYe38
Guru

On the CAX80 there is a menu option under Advanced tab/Advanced Settings/Router mode. Select NO. 

@It_might_be wrote:

So how would I go about that? 

View solution in original post

Message 7 of 14

All Replies
CrimpOn
Guru

If the Orbi has been "Factory Reset", then it would be in router mode.

It is getting an IP address from the CAX80 and has created a private subnet for everything connected to the Orbi.

So, if a computer is wired to the CAX80 (no WiFi on the CAX80), you cannot connect to the Orbi because it does not accept connections "from the internet" - which the CAX80 appears to be to the Orbi.

If a computer is connected to the Orbi, then whatever the Network Settings show for the "Gateway" IP address will be the Orbi, and it will accept connections from the LAN side.

Message 2 of 14
FURRYe38
Guru