Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

RBS20 LED light solid amber

plmskier
Aspirant

RBS20 LED light solid amber

Hi all,

I've read a ton of articles and looking for help before I give up. I have an orbi router and 1 satellite set up and running for a while now. The kit originally came with two satellites but I didn't have a need for the 2nd until now. I unwrapped it as I've never used it before and the power led light is solid amber. I've tried resetting by holding 7 seconds, power off while holding reset 7s, power on hold reset for 7. Also did same sequence in 30s, 3 times...on off on keeping reset held down. Another article said do it and unplug power, tried that with no success. What do I do? It must be a firmware issue or something but it's technically new out of the box. I don't have extended warranty...I'm sure this has been answered before but not sure where to go from here.

Thanks!

Paul
Message 1 of 7
plemans
Guru

Re: RBS20 LED light solid amber

You can try recovering it with tftp or nmrpflash.
are you on windows? if so, follow this guide
https://kb.netgear.com/000059634/How-to-upload-firmware-to-a-NETGEAR-router-using-Windows-TFTP
just make sure you enable tftp
https://www.thewindowsclub.com/enable-tftp-windows-10

and here's a video walk through using a tftp client. Use the built in one for windows 10 though. the video is more of an example of how its done.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R9DLrLQrpaw

and if that doesn't work, you can try using nmrpflash
https://github.com/jclehner/nmrpflash

Message 2 of 7
plmskier
Aspirant