Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: RBS50 Disconnecting

Shirosen
Guide

RBS50 Disconnecting

My Orbi RBS50 (satellites) has been disconnecting consistently, it would disconnect and a few seconds later turn blue. Thinking that the issue would resolve itself, I've let it continue for about two weeks now. Then I took to the forums and tried everything: 

1. I've updated both the RBR50 and RBS50 to the current firmware (V2.1.3.4)
  2. I've factory reset the system - when option one failed
  3. I'm now about to toss it and find something else

I don't know what might have caused these disconnections between the router and the satellites. The positions of the satellites have been the same for almost a year now. I've let the router and satellites auto-update - until now. 

Orbi.png

Please help! I am a student and I'm taking a couple of online courses; on 4/4/2018 I've disconnected during one of my online exams, my heart sank to the deepest depths possible.

Model: RBS50| Orbi AC3000 Tri-band WiFi (Satellite Only)
Message 1 of 11
FURRYe38
Guru

How big is the home your using the Orbi in? Sqft? 

Any other wifi neighbors near by? if so, how many? 

Message 2 of 11
Bizneo38
Initiate

Same problem, started a few days ago with one disconnect everyday till today. I've had 5 so far today.

V2.1.3.4
Model: RBK50| Orbi AC3000 High-Performance Tri-Band WiFi System
Message 3 of 11
Shirosen
Guide

There are about 4 other wireless networks around me; however, it has never been an issue before. As to how many square feet, I am not sure. I live in a one-story house, but the satellites are about 25ft away from the router.

Message 4 of 11
eljarviso
Luminary

I would suggest downgrading to a previous version to see if that fixes your issue.
Message 5 of 11
Shirosen
Guide

Which firmware version would you suggest?

Message 6 of 11
FURRYe38
Guru