Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: RBS50 issues with Firware V2.7.3.22 - Firmware incorrect

SLK-Purdue
Luminary

what version are you currently running?   Stable?

Scott

Model: CATRBR50-100NAS|Orbi Premium CAT5e Flat Ethernet Cable
Message 51 of 66
FURRYe38
Guru

Orbi doesn't support blocking or disabling of FW updates. When major versions of FW are made available, it's up to NG to push them regardless if users want it or not.  Only way I found to block update is if you put a router or firewall and block the auto update services here. Blocking these services on board the RBR doesn't work.

Message 52 of 66
SLK-Purdue
Luminary

Clearly, you are correct and the nvram setting that I thought turned off the auto update didn't work.

Just for background, I am a 50 year IT professional.  My IT professional experience even pre-dates networking.  🙂

I get the issues with updates but I also get the issue with bad timing for the recipients.  Microsoft has learned this the hard way.   My Orbi is a VERY key piece of equipment and I can't risk waking up to a surprise.  Updates have to have some reasonable controls by the user.   There needs to at least be a window for the update.   If I had a critical function today and the update caused problems, I would be screwed.  I can't risk that.   I backup my Orbi config parameters nights (btw v2.7.2.22 hosed my backup cron job too!!) so I can always go back to yesterday night.   That's protection but going back takes time I might not have first thing in the AM.

NG - Please listen.  You can't do midnight surprised!!

Scott

Model: RBR50|Orbi AC3000 Tri-band WiFi Router
Message 53 of 66
FURRYe38
Guru

FYI, this is NOT the first time NG has pushed FW and broke users systems. Long history on this.