Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Severe Packet Loss on Orbi RBR50

sonicspriter202
Aspirant

Severe Packet Loss on Orbi RBR50

To whom this may concern,

I have purchased my Orbi RBR50 last year at a local BestBuy, since I needed a stable Wi-Fi extension that can extend my connection due to my router being at the opposite side of the house from where I use my PC. 

The firmware version that I'm currently using is V2.7.2.104, which is up-to-date: the satellite model is an Orbi RBS50

I've been starting to have this packet loss problem since August of 2020; since then, I've tried restoring to older firmware versions (which did work for a short period of time) before I started to get packet loss again. I tried to fix it by updating my firmware again, but that did not work causing me to reset my router. After resetting my router, I updated it and it was working fine until last week. I tried using the same methods from before, but none of them would work; its as if the mesh/router became immune to those solutions. 

The packet loss that used to happen was very minor and would occur every hour, whereas now, it occurs atleast every 5-10 minutes or when it's trying to upload or download more packets in games that are competitive. My download speeds are 330 MBPS, and my upload speeds are 16 MBPS, with my ping at 0 according to the SpeedTest website and the Orbi Netgear app. Anything like video streaming, online web calls or gaming causes the ping to rise from 20 to 80, and have consistent packet loss (around 60% to 95% packet loss). I cannot use ethernet from the RBR50 since it is located halfway between the house in order to maintain those high download and upload speeds. Bringing the RBR50 closer decreases the download and upload speeds, and moving it further reduces the bandwidth it has to my computer.

Any type of help would be appreciated.