Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Slow speeds/connectivity issues

oohtruck
Initiate

Slow speeds/connectivity issues

I've been using my RBR50 for a few months now without any issues but in the last week I've started experiencing extremely slow speeds, if not complete disconnection in my bedroom, which is maybe 24-30 feet from the router. I haven't moved anything nor changed any of the settings, so i'm wondering how I can troubleshoot/fix.

thanks!

Model: Orbi High-Performance AC3000 Tri-Band WiFi System (RBK50)
Message 1 of 8
ricblue
Tutor

I'm having very odd, similar issue

My wife's iMac (Latest Mac OS Sierra, all updates, 21.5", Mid-2011, 2.5GHz Intel Core i5)  was until last week connecting at 300 Mbps to the Orbi Satellite sitting 6 feet away.  It only has a 802.11n card so 300 Mbps is the max I can expect but that was enough to deliver full 101 Mbps of our Optimum plan to the iMac.

TODAY - the iMac will only ever connect at 144Mbps to the Orbi Satellite, sitting in the same place, 6 feet away.   No changes in location of either device.  

I have logged into the Satellite to confirm that the iMac is connecting to the correct near-by Orbi

Speedtest (which tested 101+ Mbps last time i tested) is now reporting only reporting 35-50 Mbps downstream to the iMac so the 144 vs 300 Mbps to the Orbi is the new bottleneck.  

VERY FRUSTRATING  -- wife reporting that her Mac "feels slow"

I've done "forget this network" / re-pair to the wifi on the iMac - doesn't help

Orbi and Satellite update recently to v1.8.0.6 -- is there a problem with this firmware version???

iMac reports good signal strength so why only 144 Mbps???? --- RSSI = -20dBm,  Noise = -90dBm, MCS Index = 15, BUT Tx rate = 144Mbps (and never higher)

Message 2 of 8
st_shaw
Master

@ricblue wrote:

I'm having very odd, similar issue