Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Trouble with WiFi quality

engin33r_atl
Guide

Trouble with WiFi quality

I just moved into a new house and promptly installed an Orbi. The router is installed in the basement, and the satellite is installed upstairs. The house is 2 floors with a basement. It's not a huge structure as the house itself is 40' wide by 50' deep. I've repeatedly had a ton of trouble on video calls...when sitting in the breakfast area, the video keeps pausing and dropping and coming back. When I move to the other side of the house, further from the satellite, the video quality was absolutely perfect. Since this is not a huge house, I'm stumped. I'm a mobile software dev and I basically don't know squat about networking or where to begin troubleshooting this.

A couple of notes:

- Both the router and satellite are running the latest firmware (1.4.0.16).

- I have 75 megabit internet service

- Ookla speed test reports 90 megabits down and 12 megabits up when I'm in the basement 10 feet away from the router.

- 1st floor, in the breakfast area which is 20' from the satellite and probably 40' from the router, Speed Test shows 25 down and 12 up.

- 1st floor, in the office/bedroom, which is ~40' from the satellite and 20` from the router, I'm getting 55 down and 12 up. After powering down cycling my iPhone's WiFi, I ran the test again and got 90 down and 12 up, which tells me the poorer performance was probably happening when connected to the satellite.

- On 2nd floor, in bedroom at front of house, furthest away from router and sat, I'm getting 45 down and 12 up.

- On 2nd floor in bedroom at back of house, I'm getting 50 down and 12 up.