Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Update V1.9.1.12 Netgear officially announcing 'Improvement in wireless connection Stability'

Flash008
Luminary

Re: Update V1.9.1.12 Netgear officially announcing 'Improvement in wireless connection Stability'

I thought I would give another update.

I woke up and had an immediate phone call I need to make for work. Needless to say, all my devices were dropping from WIFI. I switched to the cell network. Problem solved.

But I knew what the problem was. Orbi auto updated to its GA 1.10.1.2 release AGAIN.

Rolled back to beta 1.10.0.1 and things are back to “normal”.

Thanks, Netgear

Anyone still feel that auto update is a good thing, or required?

Message 251 of 266
tubastank
Apprentice

As a seasoned IT professional I am astounded Netgear has hardcodes autoupdates, especially when we're talking about a networking device. I understand this is consumer grade but still, ridiculous.

Microsoft on the desktop and server platforms does have autoupdates but it's configurable with several different options so one can do it manually. Synology on the NAS side has done the same thing and Apple provides notifications that updates are available but I don't believe they autoupdates.

We're talking software here. There is no reason to not provide customers the ability to disable autoupdates and implement steps to how Microsoft and Synology have for their products except if you want to control everything.

Based on this on how Support was one-way I'm starting to understand how Netgear works. Your customers are not all mindless idiots. You have smart people wanting to use your products. Give your customers and those potentially to be the capabilities and options.
Message 252 of 266
Flash008
Luminary

Well, I must be fair and honest (as my parents raised me to be)....