Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Use Orbi with EX7300 extender

debas
Aspirant

Use Orbi with EX7300 extender

I have a 2000 home with a cambium router provided by my service provider.  It gives me fair to mediocre coverage in the house.  I have another 2000 bldg. about 70' away with a EX7300/AC2200 extender.  This also gives that bldg fair coverage.  I'm considering going to the Orbi 3 pack in the house.  Will the extender in the other bldg be compatable and should I expect it to work any better or worse ? TIA, I'm no expert so please keep it simple 🙂 

Message 1 of 11
FURRYe38
Guru

Re: Use Orbi with EX7300 extender

Yes should be fine. 

What is the size of your home? Sq Ft?
What is the distance between the router and satellite(s)? 30 feet is recommended in between them to begin with depending upon building materials. 

Regarding modem router combo units:

Modem Combo Units:
Couple of options,
1. Configure the modem for transparent bridge mode. Then use the Orbi router in router mode. You'll need to contact the ISP for help and information in regards to the modem being bridged correctly.
2. If you can't bridge the modem, disable ALL wifi radios on the modem, configure the modems DMZ for the IP address the Orbi router gets from the modem. Then you can use the Orbi router in Router mode.
3. Or disable all wifi radios on the modem and connect the Orbi router to the modem, configure AP mode on the Orbi router. https://kb.netgear.com/31218/How-do-I-configure-my-Orbi-router-to-act-as-an-access-point and https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H7LOcJ8GdDo&app=desktop

Message 2 of 11
Chuck_M
Mentor

I dont think his router is part of a modem/router combination from what I saw.