Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Very Sad Orbi RB50 experience

petermorrone
Initiate

Very Sad Orbi RB50 experience

First, i am an IT professional and software/hardware engineer.  I have a large ranch with a FIOS cable modem and a low end wifi router connected to it.  I bought orbi because i wanted to get better coverage.  I did alot of reading and did see the negative comments usually with tech there are always negative comment as the positive experiences usually dont bother commenting.  All of the competing systems have similar negative comments and i like netgear and the direction they are heading it so i took a chance...I bouht the RB50 with one satellite.

First the good...

Amazingly easy set up

Crazy range.  Even with just the router (no satellite) i was able to cover my whole house.

Now the bad...Netgear please pay attention...

1-I literally swapped the old router out and the new router in.  Same devices, same connections etc.  I researched the support site and netgear recommended that with the FIOS router i should configure as a access point.  This is what i did.  System rebooted every 15 mins to several hrs.

2-Did more research and netgear recommends to manuall install the latested firmware so i put 16 on it.  Still no change.