Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Wifi drop

robgardien
Aspirant

Wifi drop

I am having Wi-Fi dropouts with my Orbi configuration. I have the following setup:

- RBR40 router in AccessPoint mode

RBW30 Wall Sattelite with 5G backhaul

- RBS20 Sattelite with wired backhaul

I have done some reserach in this forum as well as google. I tried the following steps but they did not help:

-Try enabling Beamforming and MIMO. Under Advanced Tab/Advanced Settings/Wireless Settings

-Try disabling the following and see:
Daisy Chain, Fast Roaming, IPv6 and Set 20/40Mhz Coexistence to 40Mhz only. Save settings and reboot the router and satellite(s).

-Rebooting by unplug for 5 minutes and turn off the power button on the router.

- Changing the Transmit Power Control to 75%

- Change Preamable Mode to Long Preamable

I work in IT so I als enabled telnet to change the 5G Wifi SSID but that didn't help. I have no clue to as why my WiFi on my phone is dropping. Please help!

What FW is currently loaded? V2.3.5.30
What is the Mfr and model# of the ISP modem the NG router is connected too? Mikrotik router
Is the Orbi system operating in Router or AP mode?  AP mode with 2 sattelites

What is the size of your home? Sq Ft? 1000

What channels are you using? Auto?  I am manually set to 1 for 2.4ghz and 48 for 5ghz.
Any Wifi Neighbors near by? If so, how many? 8 different networks by me.
What WPA security modes are you using? WPA2-PSK [AES]

Model: RBW30|Orbi AC2200 Tri-band WiFi Add-on Satellite
Message 1 of 13
FURRYe38
Guru

What is the distance between the router and satellite(s)? 30 feet is recommended in between RBR and RBS to begin with depending upon building materials when wirelessly connected. https://kb.netgear.com/000036466/How-far-should-I-place-my-Orbi-satellite-from-my-Orbi-router

Any Wifi Neighbors using same channels?