Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: desktop pc cannot connect to Orbi wifi network RBR50v2

Remon83
Aspirant

desktop pc cannot connect to Orbi wifi network RBR50v2

Hi all,

I have been running a RBR50v2 (home station + 2 satellites) for a few months now. Firmware version is V2.5.1.16.

All my devices work fine, but I cannot seem to wirelessly connect a new desktop pc that I bought last week.

The pc runs windows 10 pro, intel i3-9100F cpu. The networkcard is a TP-Link Wireless N PCI Express Adapter.

It can find the wifi networks (both normal and gues-network) just fine, but refuses to connect (cannot connect to the network). I reïnstalled the PCI adapter a few times, checked driver updates, etc. It connects without any issues to my mobile phone hotspot, so the adapter is working as it should.

I have been on the phone with Netgear support, reinstalled the whole Orbi system using web browser, changed wifi names + passwords, switched 2.4 and 5 ghz channels, switched off WPA encryption, disabled 20/40 MHz Coexistence.

At the end of the last phonecall, the agent concluded there was nothing left to do within the Orbi admin menu's.

Anyone had similar issues and (hopefully) a solution? The pc is running on a wired connection now, so it's not a huge issue, but I just would like to know why it won't connect wirelessly.

Thanks!

Model: RBR50|Orbi AC3000 Tri-band WiFi Router
Message 1 of 5
FURRYe38
Guru

I would try a different adapter. If it's not connecting with NGs attempted changes, then seems like the adapter is not conpatible. 

Message 2 of 5
CrimpOn
Guru

@Remon83 wrote:

The networkcard is a TP-Link Wireless N PCI Express Adapter.