Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: orbi RBK53 setup wont connect the Orbi Network (TalkTalk ISP Router)

CDSScott
Tutor

orbi RBK53 setup wont connect the Orbi Network (TalkTalk ISP Router)

I am trying to set up a new orbi RBK53 system which I just bought from Amazon UK. My ISP is TalkTalk and the router they supplyed to me is D-Link DSL 3782. Because of my location I can only get their minimum fibre connection which averages 38 Mb. I am not a networking expert by any means, so I am lost as to what may be causing my problems, but I have paid circa £400 for the orbi system and I would prefer to get it working and keep it,  so I want to try my best to get it working before I have to return it to Amazon.

I tried to use the orbi app on both my android tablet and phone but both failed with the same problem, the app tells me it cant connect to the Orbi Network. I have seen advice telling me to turn off the WiFi on the TalkTalk router, which I have done. I also see some advice telling me that I need to configure the Orbi wifi router to Access Point (AP) mode. As the orbi mobile app does not enable me to do this, I tried to do it on Chrome browser via the orbilogin.com page.  This also had the same problem reported as the mobile app. It tells me to :

Connect to the Orbi WiFi Network

Looks like you’re not connected to your Orbi’s WiFi network.

Don’t worry, it happens to the best of us. Try the following steps to get connected:

It then advises me to clear the Chrome browser cashe, which I did. Still the same error. No more advice is given.

I have tried many time over the last 3 hours powering down my router, the orbi system, restarting the orbi app, but I always have the same problem. I have made some observations which may help other in forming an opinion and what advice you may give me, so here are my observations.