× NETGEAR is aware of a growing number of phone and online scams. To learn how to stay safe click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

GC110 Switch - L2TP/IPSec VPN to NAS

steven42
Aspirant

GC110 Switch - L2TP/IPSec VPN to NAS

I have a Synology NAS which I've been able to access remotely via VPN L2TP/IPSec, I was on an unmanaged switch before but upgraded to the GC110 so I can do link aggregation to improve my bandwidth to my NAS for my at home small business.

I was able to successfully configure the link aggregation without changing any of my network settings, so it should have been a pure swap of hardware (unmanaged swich to managed switch) but I was unable to establish a VPN connection with the new managed switch.

I'm not a networking expert so my knowlege in this area is limited. But it seems like there is a security layer that is preventing me from accessing the NAS. Is there a firewall on my switch that I need to open up some ports? Is there some other security setting that I should look at to allow a VPN connection?

Any advice will be really appreciated, thank you!

Model: GC110|8-Port Gigabit Ethernet App Managed Smart Cloud Switch w/2 SFP Fiber Ports
Message 1 of 4
schumaku
Guru

Re: GC110 Switch - L2TP/IPSec VPN to NAS

@steven42 wrote:

I was able to successfully configure the link aggregation without changing any of my network settings, so it should have been a pure swap of hardware (unmanaged swich to managed switch) but I was unable to establish a VPN connection with the new managed switch.

Something sounds wrong here. You have to change the config on both the NAS and the switch e.g. to a LACP LAG config. Doing so might change the interface config on the Syno VPN config - so some adjustment might be required.

Message 2 of 4
steven42
Aspirant

@schumaku wrote:

@steven42 wrote: