× NETGEAR is aware of a growing number of phone and online scams. To learn how to stay safe click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: GS748Tv5 - Create an Internal and an External VLAN

SteveAlliance
Aspirant

GS748Tv5 - Create an Internal and an External VLAN

Hi - a newbie here.  I am trying to configure a GS748Tv5 switch to have an internal and an external VLAN and am not having any luck.

Here's what I want to accomplish:

VLAN 1

Port 41 only.  I am currently connected to the switch using Port 41.  I am working remotely so I did not want to add it to the internal VLAN yet.

VLAN100 (External)

Ports 1 through 4.  Port 1 connects to my Comcast Router.  Ports 2 and 3 connect to my external Firewall ports.  Port 4 is empty.  Ports 1 through 4 are Tagged.

VLAN200 (Internal)

Ports 5 through 48.  Ports 5 through 46 are for my internal network (PC's, Printers, Projectors).  Ports 47 and 48 connect to my internal Firewall ports. Ports 5 through 40 and 42 through 46 are Untagged.  Ports 47 and 48 are Tagged

Here's what I have done:

1)The switch has a static IP address.

2) VLan 100 and 200 have been created and ports assigned.

3) PVID are configured.

And here is where my newbieness has me going crazy - I'm not sure how to configure the IP Routing on the VLans.  I do not have access to my current switch (which is an old Brocade) so I can't compare configurations for help. 

Do I route the external VLAN using my Comcast IP? 

I tried to add the Internal VLAN and it fails with a "Error! Failed to Set 'IP Address' with '192.168.xxx.x' " message.  (The xx.x was added by me on this email - I am using a valid internal address".

I'm hoping that someone can offer some advice on how I can get this configured.  Normally I would reach out to a contractor for this but becasue of the current world we are in he is not available to help me.

Appreciate any advice.

Thanks -

Steve

Model: GS748Tv5|ProSafe 48 ports Gigabit Smart switch
Message 1 of 4

Accepted Solutions
schumaku
Guru