× NETGEAR is aware of a growing number of phone and online scams. To learn how to stay safe click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Guest WiFi connection can't access Internet using WN203 access point and GS108E in VLAN config

DonD
Guide

Guest WiFi connection can't access Internet using WN203 access point and GS108E in VLAN config

I'm new to VLAN technology, and am beginning to wish I never heard of it.  I'm try to setup a Guest SSID and main network users SSID, such that Guests can't access main network resources.

Here's the setup:

WN203 access point:

- Main network SSID setup with security and assigned to VLAN 1

- Guest profile SSID setup without security and assigned to VLAN 2

GS108E swtich:

- port 1:  main network computer, no VLAN capability

- port 2:  another main network computer, no VLAN capability

- port 3:  WN203 access point

- port 8:  Router, no VLAN capability

- VLAN 1 membership:  ports 1, 2, 3, 8

- VLAN 2 membership:  ports 3, 8

The Problem:

Guest WiFi connection won't connect to Internet (bad!) and don't see network resources (good!).  Main network WiFi connection connects to Internet and can see all network resources.

Sure could use some help with this.

Thanks in advance,

Don

Message 1 of 15

Accepted Solutions
DonD
Guide

Re: Guest WiFi connection can't access Internet using WN203 access point and GS108E in VLAN config

Okay, got it!  I think I finally understand how VLAN configuration works.  The example on that link really helped!   I just ordered a Netgear FVS318N.  I put one of those in a previous church, and now will put one in my current church.

Thanks again for you help!

Don

View solution in original post

Message 12 of 15

All Replies
JohnRo
NETGEAR Employee Retired

Re: Guest WiFi connection can't access Internet using WN203 access point and GS108E in VLAN config

Hello DonD, 

Welcome to the community!